rector-mugshotFather Jesse Abell, Rector

The Rev. Jesse Abell was called as the rector (pastor) of St. Stephen’s in the summer of 2011. As the rector, he serves as the primary parish priest for the people of St. Stephen’s, chairs the Vestry (board of elected lay leaders), and represents the congregation in the larger community. Fr. Jesse can be contacted at rector@nullststeph.com.

 Click here to learn more about our rector.

Mother Hilary Bogert-WinklerAssisting Priest

The Rev. Hilary Bogert-Winkler is the diocesan Missioner for Christian Formation, as well as a PhD candidate at the University of Connecticut. She is helping out at St. Stephen’s as an honorary assistant when she’s not committed to be elsewhere. She can be reached at hbwchurch@nullgmail.com.


LisaLisa Roy, Parish Administrator

Lisa Roy joined our parish staff in February 2016. As the Parish Administrator, she manages the office and takes care of many of the administrative tasks that go on behind the scenes at St. Stephen’s, and she also is responsible for our parish bookkeeping. You can contact Lisa and the parish office at info@nullststeph.com.



Marla Farrow, Organist & Choir Director

Marla has served on staff at St. Stephen’s for over 20 years.  She oversees the music program at St. Stephen’s, plans the music for worship, coordinates special presentations by other musicians, and directs both our regular parish choir and a children’s choir. Marla has a Bachelor of Music from the University of Rhode Island, and a Master of Music from UMass Amherst. In addition to her work for the church, she teaches music at Shirley Public Schools in Shirley, Massachusetts. She can be contacted at marla.farrow@nullststeph.com.


PeterPeter Williams, Sexton

Peter recently joined our parish staff as our sexton (custodian). He helps to keep the building and grounds looking clean and inviting, and he also works with maintenance so that the facilities are in good repair. In addition to his duties here, he is also the sexton at St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church in North Grafton.



2014 Vestry


Michele Mongeon, Senior Warden
David Small, Junior Warden
Lynne Urso, Treasurer
Greg Michel, Parish Clerk
Rick Umiker, Service (Class of 2019)
Deane Yankee,Evangelism (Class of 2019)
Milan Robbins, Parish Life (Class of 2020)
Meta Mitchell, Worship (Class of 2020)
Stephanie Borgia-Lundbergh, Education (Class of 2021)

In the Episcopal church, lay men and women are elected as the vestry (a pastoral council), who work with the Rector to lead the parish. Vestry members are elected for three-year terms, and Officers are elected for one-year terms. The Rector serves as the chair of the vestry.